Blink-182 “Neighborhoods” – Album Review

Posted: September 19, 2011 in Album Reviews
Tags: , , , , , ,

I realize that I am a horrible person because when I heard that the brand new Blink-182 album, Neighborhoods, had leaked I downloaded it.  I have been a fan of the punk trio for about 6 years now.  I own every single one of their records, from Buddha to their Greatest Hits, so their new album was definitely a must-have for such a dedicated fan as I.  Just because I torrented this album does not mean that I will not go out and buy it.  I have enough respect for these musicians to pay the dues for their hard work.

Before I begin the review of this album I would like to supply those “lesser fans” with a brief history of Blink-182.  In 1992, Tom DeLonge, Mark Hoppus, and Scott Raynor focused on filling their dreams of starting a punk band.  After making 2 full length albums (Cheshire Cat and Dude Ranch), Raynor left the band to focus on school.  Around this time, young drum legend Travis Barker was playing in a ska band by the name of The Aquabats.  Hearing of his talents, Mark and Tom urged him to join Blink-182 and replace Scott Raynor as their drummer.  Accepting this life changing agreement, the power punk trio put out 3 more records together (Enema of the State, Take Off Your Pants & Jacket, and the self-titled album Blink-182).  Shortly after Blink-182’s 5th studio album and long lasting disputes, Tom DeLonge and Mark Hoppus announced that Blink-182 would be playing their last show together in late 2004.  Feeling as if split between his two best friends in a fight, Travis Barker accompanied both Hoppus and DeLonge in their separate bands.  Mark formed +44, while Tom formed Boxcar Racer (in which Travis played drums) and Angels & Airwaves.  Finally in the spring of 2009, Blink-182 announced that they had solved their problems and would be back touring again by that summer.  My first concert was at the Verizon Wireless Center in Irvine, CA where I got the opportunity to see Blink-182 along with other pop/punk favorites, Fall Out Boy and The All-American Rejects.  After this 2009 tour, Blink-182 set out to put forth a brand new album incorporating both Tom’s Angels & Airwaves and Mark’s very own +44.

I can honestly say that I was worried about the outcome of this new album as I was not a fan of Tom’s post-Blink musical goings.  I was hopeful that Mark (the pop/punk lover) would step forward and help them get back that old teenage rebellion sound they had before.  Neighborhoods starts out with a song called “Ghost on the Dance Floor”.  From the get go I hear the synthesizers and I am turned off.  Then the guitar riff came in and I began to dig it.  “Ghost on the Dance Floor”, “Natives”, and “Hearts All Gone” I would have to say are my top 3 favorite songs off this album.  The rest just seem….”okay”.  This is fairly disappointing for someone with such deep pop/punk roots as I.  I would like to go on record saying that Travis Barker (regardless of what I say about Blink-182) does an OUTSTANDING job throughout the entire record.  If it had not been for his god-like drum skill I would have trouble listening to this album, let alone a song, all the way through.

I would give Neighborhoods a 5/10 and that is being generous.  Lets just hope they find their “new sound” in which they are seeking soon.

  1. Cheyenne says:

    i like it[: it’s a really good review and i agree with you saying it would have to be a 5/10 because in all honesty i miss the teenage rebellion sound they had before but hey it makes me happy that they are still a band together[: But good review on the album.<3

  2. Samantha Mackie says:

    I’m really impressed with your choice in staying a dedicated fan to go and buy their album even though you had already downloaded. It’s great fans like that, that keep bands alive. And Travis Barker is the most amazing drummer ever ❤

  3. You have some points, but at the same time, the realization of these guys is that they are almost 10 years older than they were writing their self titled, so everything is going to be more mature sounding, not about “teenage rebellion”, cause they are far from teenagers now, whats funny is how everyone hates down on “up all night” and says it sounds like ava, but blink actually wrote that song during the sessions of their selfed titled, theres a video of tom playing it on dvd they released for that record, so i find it funny cause if it had been released back than nobody would have said “this sounds like angels and airwaves so i dont like it”, cause there was no ava. when you listen to their self titled album and than listen to neighborhoods, it actually does sound like they go together. that’s my take on this album at least.

    • Nice Review! I still dont get why people are hating on blink, saying “i wish they would go back to their teenage rebellion sound” when they are all dads! Its great music! i love the singles that came out so far and im sure the rest of the cd will be JUSTAS AMAZING! 😀 cant wait to listen to it.

  4. Kelsi Ramirez says:

    It’s a good review! I like the fact that you’re still a fan regardless of the fact that besides those three songs you weren’t impressed. I have yet to listen to the album but now I’m anxious to hear it. Travis Barker is awesome!!

  5. jake garfinkel says:

    hoppus been doing alot of solo stuff aswell. like the new album is them coming together, its like a supergroup, and dude dont be afraid of long reviews, just space them out, cause if its in one paragraph its a giant monster, it its spaced out, then people have a mush easier time reading it, but yeah, i feel that blinks next album will be much better if they have one, cause this is like coming together for the first time kinda thing, i knew it wasnt gona be as good. but i say we all buy it to support, cause like srsly, this is honestly a great thing, few bands are brave enough to extend their musical boundries, and that is how bands die, blink is saving themselves, maybe they just lost an arm w/ this new album, but it saves the rest of them from a deadly infection. for instance did anyof you listen to the last album by CAKE? it was really bad, way too repetitive of their old stuff, alot of bands are criticized for trying to change so few do, but we should encourage it, cause if a band doesnt like the change, then they r just gona go back to their roots anyways

  6. Skip182 says:

    1. Stop complaining about wanting to hear the type of music they played 15 years ago. They’ve grown up, it’s time you do too. They are not looking for a “new sound” they are expanding on what they’ve done in the past and who they are now. Do you even know why they titled the album Neighborhoods?

    2. If you were really a blink 182 fan, you’d realize how grossly innacurate your “brief history for lesser fans” really is. A real fan would know who played in what band, what band played when, why members left or joined, that they didn’t announce they were going to be playing their last show in 2004, and last but not least, had actually seen a show before 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s